the station was opened on 1 october 1874
until the 1970s excursion trains were run to the station from south wales for visitors to bristol zoo – trains known as “monkey specials”
an additional subway style entrance to the station from whiteladies road was removed in the early 1990s
the original station waiting room, ticket office and station-master’s house, which stands as a testament to previous grandeur, is now an australian theme pub known as the “roo bar”
it is now unstaffed with no ticket machines, meaning tickets should be bought on the train.
the disused station building’s bricked-up windows and doors feature artwork of animals created by students at the north bristol post 16 centre at the redland green learning community as part of an art and design course, and to promote links to bristol zoo